The Hobbit

An Illustrated Edition of the Fantasy Classic

Author: Charles Dixon,John Ronald Reuel Tolkien

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781435242722

Category: Fiction

Page: 133

View: 1826

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Chronicles the adventures of Bilbo Baggins, who embarks on a quest to reclaim stolen treasure from the dragon Smaug, along with his dwarve companions and the wizard Gandalf, and unwittingly returns to the Shire with a Ring of Power.

Redwall

Author: Brian Jacques

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473521017

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 576

View: 1785

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Welcome to Redwall Abbey. Inside its enormous doors, mice live in peace, helping those in need and throwing epic feasts for the great and the good of Mossflower Woods. But outside a grave threat is gathering. An army of evil rats led by a vicious, one-eyed warlord, is on its way. Matthias is just one little mouse but he knows it’ll take more than stones and mouse-sized arrows to keep the rats at bay. Enlisting the help of a military hare, wild sparrows and argumentative stoats, Matthias sets out to defend his freedom, his friends, and the abbey he calls home. Includes exclusive material: In the Backstory you can learn to make a Redwall Abbey pudding! Vintage Children’s Classics is a twenty-first century classics list aimed at 8-12 year olds and the adults in their lives. Discover timeless favourites from Peter Pan and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland to modern classics such as The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

The Hobbit

Author: J. R. R. Tolkien

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 6050465118

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 4735

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Read the definitive edition of Bilbo Baggins’ adventures in middle-earth in this classic bestseller behind this year’s biggest movie. The Hobbit is a tale of high adventure, undertaken by a company of dwarves in search of dragon-guarded gold. A reluctant partner in this perilous quest is Bilbo Baggins, a comfort-loving unambitious hobbit, who surprises even himself by his resourcefulness and skill as a burglar. Encounters with trolls, goblins, dwarves, elves and giant spiders, conversations with the dragon, Smaug, and a rather unwilling presence at the Battle of Five Armies are just some of the adventures that befall Bilbo. Bilbo Baggins has taken his place among the ranks of the immortals of children’s fiction. Written by Professor Tolkien for his own children, The Hobbit met with instant critical acclaim when published.

The Furnace

A Graphic Novel

Author: Prentis Rollins

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN: 125021324X

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 208

View: 8130

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Timely and heartfelt, Rollins’ graphic novel debut The Furnace is a literary science fiction glimpse into our future, for fans of Black Mirror and The Twilight Zone One decision. Thousands of lives ruined. Can someone ever repent for the sins of their past? When Professor Walton Honderich was a young grad student, he participated in a government prison program and committed an act that led to the death of his friend, the brilliant physicist Marc Lepore, and resulted in unimaginable torment for an entire class of people across the United States. Twenty years later, now an insecure father slipping into alcoholism, Walton struggles against the ghosts that haunt him in a futuristic New York City. With full-color art and a cutting-edge critique of our increasingly technological world, The Furnace speaks fluently to the terrifying scope of the surveillance state, the dangerous allure of legacy, and the hope of redemption despite our flaws. “Surreal and evocative, The Furnace is a great critique of technology and the human condition.” —John Jennings, illustrator for the New York Times #1 bestseller Octavia Butler’s Kindred: A Graphic Novel Adaptation At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Colour Illustrated Hobbit

Author: J. R. R. Tolkien

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780007497928

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 5108

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable and quiet life. His contentment is disturbed one day when the wizard, Gandalf, and the dwarves arrive to take him away on an adventure.

Clinton Cash: A Graphic Novel

Author: N.A

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1621576329

Category: Political Science

Page: 112

View: 7780

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A book to challenge the status quo, spark a debate, and get people talking about the issues and questions we face as a country!

The Hobbit Companion

Author: David Day

Publisher: Pavilion Books

ISBN: 1909108340

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 300

View: 1318

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Exploring the brilliant web of verbal hocus-pocus that J.R.R. Tolkien delightedly spun inThe Hobbit andThe Lord of the Rings, master hobbit investigator David Day reveals the myriad crafty puns and riddles, hidden meanings, and mythical associations beneath the saga's thrilling surface.

A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel

Author: Madeleine L'Engle

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

ISBN: 1466833955

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 392

View: 1458

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The world already knows Meg and Charles Wallace Murry, Calvin O'Keefe, and the three Mrs--Who, Whatsit, and Which--the memorable and wonderful characters who fight off a dark force and save our universe in the Newbery award-winning classic A Wrinkle in Time. But in 50 years of publication, the book has never been illustrated. Now, Hope Larson takes the classic story to a new level with her vividly imagined interpretations of tessering and favorite characters like the Happy Medium and Aunt Beast. Perfect for old fans and winning over new ones, this graphic novel adaptation is a must-read. This graphic novel is best read on a tablet device.

A Game of Thrones

The Graphic Novel. Volume 1

Author: Daniel Abraham,George R. R. Martin

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN: 044042321X

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 240

View: 397

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The kingdom of the royal Stark family faces its ultimate challenge in the onset of a generation-long winter, the poisonous plots of the rival Lannisters, the emergence of the Neverborn demons and the arrival of barbarian hordes. 75,000 first printing.

Flood!

A Novel in Pictures

Author: Eric Drooker

Publisher: Dark Horse Originals

ISBN: 161655729X

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 192

View: 6056

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Finally available as a deluxe hardcover, this special edition of Flood! A Novel In Pictures features an 'After the Flood' section that includes 32 pages of bonus artwork and an in-depth interview with the author. An American Book Award winner and an Editor's Choice pick by The New York Times, Flood! Is the powerful first graphic novel by Eric Drooker, frequent cover artist for the New Yorker and creator of Blood Song. Flood! Is a modern novel written in the ancient language of pictures, with an expressionist, film noir edge.

There and Back Again

The Map of Tolkien's Hobbit

Author: Brian Sibley

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780007312719

Category: Middle Earth (Imaginary place)

Page: 48

View: 7177

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Writer and broadcaster Brian Sibley is a foremost expert on The Lord of the Rings (he adapted the novel for the award-winning BBC radio dramatisation in 1980), and here in this clothbound hardback he will take you to all the places Bilbo the Hobbit travelled through on his great adventure, and includes a gazetteer of the many places shown on the full-colour illustrated map which accompanies the book.,*Trace Bilbo's epic journey through the forest of Mirkwood to the Enchanted River and the Elvenking's Halls;,*Travel through the Desolation of Smaug to the heart of the Lonely Mountain, wherein lives the huge and evil dragon;,*Visit Rivendell, home of the Elves, in a hidden valley beyond the Edge of the Wild.The map is a real labour of love, illustrated by world-renowned Tolkien artist John Howe, the conceptual artist employed by Peter Jackson to work on his multi-award winning Lord of The Rings film trilogy, and who is soon to work on Guillermo del Toro's HOBBIT film.Each element in this collector's package is special; together they provide an enchanting and desirable artefact that will be a prized possession of Tolkien readers of all ages.

The Hobbit

Prelude to Lord of the Rings

Author: J. R. R. Tolkien

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780618002252

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 7879

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Strain

Author: Guillermo Del Toro,Chuck Hogan

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0061558249

Category: Fiction

Page: 608

View: 6386

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In one week, Manhattan will be gone. In one month, the country. In two months . . . the world. At New York's JFK Airport an arriving Boeing 777 taxiing along a runway suddenly stops dead. All the shades have been drawn, all communication channels have mysteriously gone quiet. Dr. Eph Goodweather, head of a CDC rapid-response team investigating biological threats, boards the darkened plane . . . and what he finds makes his blood run cold. A terrifying contagion has come to the unsuspecting city, an unstoppable plague that will spread like an all-consuming wildfire—lethal, merciless, hungry . . . vampiric. And in a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem an aged Holocaust survivor knows that the war he has been dreading his entire life is finally here . . .

Northern Lights - the Graphic Novel

Author: Philip Pullman

Publisher: Doubleday Children's

ISBN: 9780857535429

Category:

Page: 224

View: 4367

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The incredible story of Lyra Belacqua will begin, and continue, in The Book of Dust. Now you have the opportunity to revisit her adventures in Northern Lights, with this graphic novel adaptation of a masterpiece, which comes to life with incredible full-colour art. Follow Lyra's story once again in a way you've never experienced it before, as the arrival of her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, draws her to the heart of a terrible struggle - a struggle born of Gobblers and stolen children, witch clans and armoured bears. Lyra hurtles toward danger in the cold far North, never suspecting the shocking truth, that she alone is destined to win, or to lose, this more-than-mortal battle. This is the fully illustrated story, now in hardback, available for the very first time.

The Hobbit

Author: John Ronald Reuel Tolkien

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780007591855

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 3018

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole in Bag End. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of 13 dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an unexpected journey 'there and back again'. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon.

The Book of Fairy Poetry

Author: Michael Hague

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780688140045

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 160

View: 3760

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Poets from Shakespeare to Walter de la Mare to Jack Prelutsky have written about fairy folk. Sometimes they canbe benefactors and helpers; ofttimes, tricksters; but always, creatures of sublime beauty and wonder. Here, in a sparkling collection, are Michael Hague's favorite fairy poems, illuminated by pictures from this master painter of fantasy. His fanciful artwork has never looked more otherworldly or beautiful.

The Art of the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Author: Wayne G. Hammond,John Ronald Reuel Tolkien,Christina Scull

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

ISBN: 9780547928258

Category: Art

Page: 143

View: 9488

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Analyzes and illuminates Tolkien's lesser-known achievements as an artist and collects the complete artwork created for "The Hobbit," including over one hundred sketches, paintings, maps, and plans.