The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 9781843179603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 404

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A comprehensive reading guide for book lovers, which makes the choosing of the next book that much easier. With recommended titles ranging from the classics to current bestsellers, as well as a few that may take you out of your comfort zone, you need look no further than The Book Lovers' Companion to make the perfect pick. Each report contains a succinct summary of the recommended title, as well as probing discussion points and fascinating background facts, together with suggestions on further reading Great as a gift for the enthusiastic book club member or for use as a personal guide to what's hot in the world of literature.

More Book Lust

Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616558

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 5816

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The response to Nancy Pearl’s surprise bestseller Book Lust was astounding: the Seattle librarian even became the model for the now-famous Librarian Action Figure. Readers everywhere welcomed Pearl’s encyclopedic but discerning filter on books worth reading, and her Rule of 50 (give a book 50 pages before deciding whether to continue; but readers over 50 must read the same number of pages as their age) became a standard MO.

A Family of Readers

The Book Lover's Guide to Children's and Young Adult Literature

Author: Roger Sutton,Martha V. Parravano

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN: 0763662178

Category: Education

Page: 368

View: 9435

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A FAMILY OF READERS is the definitive resource for parents interested in enriching the reading lives of their children. Roger Sutton knows how and why children read. He must, as the editor in chief of THE HORN BOOK, which since 1924 has been America’s best source for reviews of books for young readers. But for many parents, selecting books for their children can make them feel lost. Now, in this essential resource, Roger Sutton and Martha V. Parravano, executive editor at the magazine, offer thoughtful essays that consider how books are read to (and then by) young people. They invite such leading authors and artists as Maurice Sendak, Katherine Paterson, Margaret Mahy, and Jon Scieszka, as well as a selection of top critics, to add their voices about the genres they know best. The result is an indispensable readers’ companion to everything from wordless board books to the most complex and daring young adult novels.

100 One-Night Reads

A Book Lover's Guide

Author: David C. Major,John S. Major

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307480895

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 3692

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Readers everywhere know that nothing soothes the spirit like sinking into a really good book. If you're one of that happy band, you'll quickly recognize the authors of this inspired reading guide as kindred spirits. Here David and John Major have chosen one hundred books that can each be delightfully consumed in one quiet evening. Covering categories from fantasy to fiction, history to humor, mystery to memoir, this addictive volume features books to match all your moods—by both celebrated writers and gifted unknowns, including: • Russell Baker • Willa Cather • Raymond Chandler • F. Scott Fitzgerald • Graham Greene • Edith Hamilton • Dashiell Hammett • Helene Hanff • Ernest Hemingway • Patricia Highsmith • Shirley Jackson • Henry James • W. Somerset Maugham • Mary McCarthy • Walter Mosley • Vladimir Nabokov • Patrick O'Brian • Barbara Pym • Phillip Roth • Vikram Seth • Isaac Bashevis Singer • C. P. Snow • Dylan Thomas • Evelyn Waugh • Edith Wharton • Laura Ingalls Wilder • Virginia Woolf Each selection contains an entertaining discussion of what makes the book special, from an adventurous writing style to a unique sense of humor. The Majors also share insights about the authors and literary anecdotes, as well as recommend other gems on a similar subject or by the same author. A literary companion to relish and refer to again and again, 100 One-Night Reads is a masterpiece in its own right! From the Trade Paperback edition.

1001 Books for Every Mood

A Bibliophile's Guide to Unwinding, Misbehaving, Forgiving, Celebrating, Commiserating

Author: Hallie Ephron

Publisher: Adams Media

ISBN: 9781598695854

Category: Reference

Page: 400

View: 3281

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Serves up a literary feast, sure to satisfy your emotional appetite. This is your must-have guide to hours and hours of reading pleasure, no matter what your mood!

The Opera Lover's Companion

Author: Charles Osborne

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300123739

Category: Music

Page: 627

View: 8145

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Written by a well-known authority, this book consists of 175 entries that set some of the most popular operas within the context of their composer's career, outline the plot, discuss the music, and more.

The Great American Read: The Book of Books

Explore America's 100 Best-Loved Novels

Author: PBS

Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal

ISBN: 0316417548

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 288

View: 3212

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A blockbuster illustrated book that captures what Americans love to read, The Great American Read: The Book of Books is the gorgeously-produced companion book to PBS's ambitious summer 2018 series. What are America's best-loved novels? PBS will launch The Great American Read series with a 2-hour special in May 2018 revealing America's 100 best-loved novels, determined by a rigorous national survey. Subsequent episodes will air in September and October. Celebrities and everyday Americans will champion their favorite novel and in the finale in late October, America's #1 best-loved novel will be revealed. The Great American Read: The Book of Books will present all 100 novels with fascinating information about each book, author profiles, a snapshot of the novel's social relevance, film or television adaptations, other books and writings by the author, and little-known facts. Also included are themed articles about banned books, the most influential book illustrators, reading recommendations, the best first-lines in literature, and more. Beautifully designed with rare images of the original manuscripts, first-edition covers, rejection letters, and other ephemera, The Great American Read: The Book of Books is a must-have book for all booklovers.

A Book Lover's Diary

Author: Shelagh Wallace,Scott McKowen

Publisher: Willowdale : Firefly Books

ISBN: 9781552090152

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 144

View: 607

DOWNLOAD NOW »
"I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train." -- Oscar Wilde A Book Lover's Diary is a journal for noting personal discoveries from the books read and recording the books on a wish list. A Book Lover's Diary is a welcome companion during forays to libraries and bookstores when the titles of books wanted can vanish from memory. Well-organized and practical, this book features separate sections for: Books to read Books read and a personal review Books to buy Books loaned out or borrowed Favorite books Memorable passages Addresses of libraries and book stores Beautifully detailed woodcuts illustrate the pages and quotations describe the joy of books and reading. By keeping track of the books read and noting their effect, this journal becomes a valuable personal history.

Book Lust

Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616590

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 6170

DOWNLOAD NOW »
What to read next is every book lover's greatest dilemma. Nancy Pearl comes to the rescue with this wide-ranging and fun guide to the best reading new and old. Pearl, who inspired legions of litterateurs with "What If All (name the city) Read the Same Book," has devised reading lists that cater to every mood, occasion, and personality. These annotated lists cover such topics as mother-daughter relationships, science for nonscientists, mysteries of all stripes, African-American fiction from a female point of view, must-reads for kids, books on bicycling, "chick-lit," and many more. Pearl's enthusiasm and taste shine throughout.

The Book Lovers' Anthology

A Compendium of Writing about Books, Readers and Libraries

Author: Bodleian Library,Bodleian Library the

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781851242481

Category:

Page: 352

View: 4494

DOWNLOAD NOW »
'Much reading is like much eating, wholly useless without digestion' – R. South'If I had read as much as other men, I should have been as ignorant as they' – T. Hobbes'Choose an author as you choose a friend' – W. Dillon ‘A blessed companion is a book – a book that, fitly chosen, is a life-long friend,’ wrote Douglas William Jerrold, over a hundred years ago. Major writers through the centuries have turned their minds to the subject of books, often with humour, sometimes with exasperation, always with affection.Between the covers of this rich selection are excerpts from the poetry of Chaucer, Shakespeare, Wordsworth, Milton and Donne, among many others. Novelists such as Austen, Dickens, Eliot and Swift have often paused in their fiction to extol the virtues of libraries, books and ‘the pleasant smell of paper freshly pressed’, or to satirize them mercilessly. Interspersed with these are the meditations of the great diarists and essayists of past centuries – Johnson, Boswell, Macaulay, Ruskin and Montaigne – writing in letters, journals and lectures on the vital importance of ‘bright books’ to the intellectual life of the nation.Can books corrupt? How do badly written books help the serious reader? How rife is plagiarism? Does reading excessively damage your eyesight? Which is the best-loved library? These questions and many more are vigorously discussed in this essential anthology for bibliophiles.

One for the Books

Author: Joe Queenan

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101601191

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 8901

DOWNLOAD NOW »
One of America’s leading humorists and author of the bestseller Closing Time examines his own obsession with books Joe Queenan became a voracious reader as a means of escape from a joyless childhood in a Philadelphia housing project. In the years since then he has dedicated himself to an assortment of idiosyncratic reading challenges: spending a year reading only short books, spending a year reading books he always suspected he would hate, spending a year reading books he picked with his eyes closed. In One for the Books, Queenan tries to come to terms with his own eccentric reading style—how many more books will he have time to read in his lifetime? Why does he refuse to read books hailed by reviewers as “astonishing”? Why does he refuse to lend out books? Will he ever buy an e-book? Why does he habitually read thirty to forty books simultaneously? Why are there so many people to whom the above questions do not even matter—and what do they read? Acerbically funny yet passionate and oddly affectionate, One for the Books is a reading experience that true book lovers will find unforgettable.

1,000 Books to Read Before You Die

A Life-Changing List

Author: James Mustich

Publisher: Workman Publishing

ISBN: 1523505125

Category: Reference

Page: 960

View: 6506

DOWNLOAD NOW »
It’s time to talk books—and the conversation starts here. Encompassing fiction, poetry, science and science fiction, memoir, travel writing, biography, children’s books, history, and more, 1,000 Books to Read Before You Die moves across cultures and through time to present an eclectic collection of titles, each described with the special enthusiasm readers summon when recommending a book to a friend. The expected pillars are here, including Jane Austen and Toni Morrison, Virgil, Dante, Dickens and Tolstoy, Franz Kafka and Simone de Beauvoir—their works made fresh through the author’s animated essays. Established classics are joined by new and unexpected choices like Citizen and Friday Night Lights. A Visit from the Goon Squad and The Pillow Bookof Sei Shōnagon, The Day of the Jackal and The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat. The result is a treasury of essential reading for expansive tastes. The book’s alphabetical listing by last name results in the serendipity of juxtaposition—Cormac McCarthy’s The Road next to Robert McCloskey’s Make Way for Ducklings, John le Carré next to Ursula K. Le Guin next to Harper Lee. Following each entry are rich endnotes that include publication dates and preferred editions, other books by the same author, related books to try, and listings of worthy adaptations, including movies and audiobooks. In total, more than six thousand titles by thirty-five hundred authors are recommended. A Miscellany of Special Lists at the end of the book offers the reader surprising entry points into the collection, such as “Books to Read in a Sitting,” including The Little Virtues by Natalia Ginzburg and The Third Man by Graham Greene, and “Offbeat Escapes,” including Freya Stark’s The Valleys of the Assassins and Felice Benuzzi’s No Picnic on Mount Kenya. For the truly dedicated reader, “A Long Climb, but What a View”—a perfect way to describe those mountainous texts we long to scale, such as Proust’s In Search of Lost Time and Shelby Foote’s The Civil War. An insightfully curated personal compendium that will inspire hours of browsing and a lifetime of reading, 1,000 Books to Read Before You Die celebrates the gorgeous mosaic that is our literary heritage.

The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 1782433643

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 2171

DOWNLOAD NOW »
With so many fantastic books out there, it can often be difficult to choose what to read next. Thankfully, The Book Lovers' Companion - an updated and revised version of The Book Club Bible - is here to help: bringing together a huge range of the best and most loved titles in one comprehensive guide. Featuring a diverse selection of books to choose from, from Pride and Prejudice to the modern classics as well as the latest bestsellers, this guide includes interesting discussion points and facts that will be indispensable for book lovers as well as potential companion books with similar themes, honest opinions from readers and razor-sharp reviews from critics, so you'll know you're making the right choice every time. Compiled by a range of English literature experts and avid readers, and with a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Lovers' Companion is sure to inspire any book lover. You need never read a bad book again!

Book Crush

For Kids and Teens - Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Interest

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616566

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 304

View: 9744

DOWNLOAD NOW »
From picture books to chapter books, YA fiction and nonfiction, Nancy Pearl has developed more thematic lists of books to enjoy. The Book Lust audience is committed to reading, and here is a smart and entertaining tool for picking the best books for kids. Divided into three sections—Easy Books, Middle-Grade Readers, and Young Adult—Nancy Pearl makes wonderful reading connections by theme, setting, voice, and ideas. For horse lovers, she reminds us of the mainstays in the category (Black Beauty, Misty of Chincoteague, etc.) but then in a creative twist connects Mr. Revere and I to the list. In a list called Chapter One, she answers the proverbial question: which chapters books are the most compelling for kids who are now ready to move beyond picture books. And who says picture books aren’t deep? Recommended Folk Tales sort out many of life’s dilemmas and issues of good and bad; a selection of picture books on Death and Dying introduces this topic with sensitivity; and You’ve Got a Friend offers up books for early readers that show the complexities and the pleasures of relating to others. Parents, teachers, and librarians are often puzzled by the unending choices for reading material for young people. It starts when the kids are toddler and doesn’t end until high-school graduation. What’s good, what’s trash, what’s going to hold their interest? Nancy Pearl, America’s favorite librarian, points the way in Book Crush.

The Ballet Lover's Companion

Author: Zoe Anderson

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300154291

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 360

View: 6545

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This engaging book is a welcome guide to the most successful and loved ballets seen on the stage today. Dance writer and critic Zoe Anderson focuses on 140 ballets, a core international repertory that encompasses works from the ethereal world of romantic ballet to the edgy, muscular works of modern choreographers. She provides a wealth of facts and insights, including information familiar only to dance world insiders, and considers such recent works as Alexei Ramansky's Shostakovich Trilogy and Christopher Wheeldon's The Winter's Tale as well as older ballets once forgotten but now returned to the repertory, such as Sylvia. To enhance enjoyment of each ballet, Anderson also offers tips on what to look for during a performance. Each chapter introduces a period of ballet history and provides an overview of innovations and advancement in the art form. In the individual entries that follow, Anderson includes essential facts about each ballet’s themes, plot, composers, choreographers, dance style, and music. The author also addresses the circumstances of each ballet’s creation and its effect in the theater, and she recounts anecdotes that illuminate performance history and reception. Reliable, accessible, and fully up to date, this book will delight anyone who attends the ballet, participates in ballet, or simply loves ballet and wants to know much more about it.

What I Read-My Book Reading Journal

Author: Terry Kepner

Publisher: Flying Chipmunk Publishing

ISBN: 9781617201202

Category: Self-Help

Page: 128

View: 7011

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The "What I Read- My Book Reading Journal" is ideal for jotting down thoughts and keeping track of all the books you've read and the ones you can't wait to start. Reread your summaries from previous books in a series to bring yourself up to speed on the characters and situations prior to launching into the latest release from one of your favorite authors. * * * * The perfect portable companion, this 6"x9" (152x229mm) stylish journal is small and light enough to carry with you. Part journal and part wish list, this journal will help you keep track of your books with: Title, Author, Genre/Series, Characters, Plot, My Reaction/Favorite Quote/Best Scene, and a five star rating system on every page and in the table of contents. * * * * Check out the other books published by Flying Chipmunk Publishing at www.FlyingChipmunkPublishing.com, or Friend us on Facebook for our latest Children's, Juvenile, and Adult releases.

I'd Rather Be Reading

The Delights and Dilemmas of the Reading Life

Author: Anne Bogel

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 149341531X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 9355

DOWNLOAD NOW »
For so many people, reading isn't just a hobby or a way to pass the time--it's a lifestyle. Our books shape us, define us, enchant us, and even sometimes infuriate us. Our books are a part of who we are as people, and we can't imagine life without them. I'd Rather Be Reading is the perfect literary companion for everyone who feels that way. In this collection of charming and relatable reflections on the reading life, beloved blogger and author Anne Bogel leads readers to remember the book that first hooked them, the place where they first fell in love with reading, and all of the moments afterward that helped make them the reader they are today. Known as a reading tastemaker through her popular podcast What Should I Read Next?, Bogel invites book lovers into a community of like-minded people to discover new ways to approach literature, learn fascinating new things about books and publishing, and reflect on the role reading plays in their lives. The perfect gift for the bibliophile in everyone's life, I'd Rather Be Reading will command an honored place on the overstuffed bookshelves of any book lover.

How to Read a Book

The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading

Author: Mortimer J. Adler,Charles Van Doren

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1476790159

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 448

View: 4474

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Analyzes the art of reading and suggests ways to approach literary works, offering techniques for reading in specific literary genres ranging from fiction, poetry, and plays to scientific and philosophical works.

The End of Mr. Y

Author: Scarlett Thomas

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547539232

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 3403

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A cursed book. A missing professor. Some nefarious men in gray suits. And a dreamworld called the Troposphere? Ariel Manto has a fascination with nineteenth-century scientists—especially Thomas Lumas and The End of Mr. Y, a book no one alive has read. When she mysteriously uncovers a copy at a used bookstore, Ariel is launched into an adventure of science and faith, consciousness and death, space and time, and everything in between. Seeking answers, Ariel follows in Mr. Y’s footsteps: She swallows a tincture, stares into a black dot, and is transported into the Troposphere—a wonderland where she can travel through time and space using the thoughts of others. There she begins to understand all the mysteries surrounding the book, herself, and the universe. Or is it all just a hallucination? With The End of Mr. Y, Scarlett Thomas brings us another fast-paced mix of popular culture, love, mystery, and irresistible philosophical adventure.