Cousin Bette

Author: Honore de Balzac

Publisher: The Floating Press

ISBN: 1775418529

Category: Fiction

Page: 724

View: 9237

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette.

Cousin Bette

Author: Honoré de Balzac

Publisher: Modern Library Classics

ISBN: 0375759077

Category: Fiction

Page: 468

View: 2696

DOWNLOAD NOW »
During the 1840s, a bourgeois Parisian family is brought to ruin by the machinations of an embittered spinster.

Cousin Betty

(La Cousine Bette) ...

Author: Honoré de Balzac

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: French literature

Page: 445

View: 9911

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Faust

Parts One and Two ; Cousin Bette ; Honoré de Balzac

Author: Robert Maynard Hutchins

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780852291634

Category:

Page: 370

View: 542

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac (Book Analysis)

Detailed Summary, Analysis and Reading Guide

Author: Bright Summaries,

Publisher: BrightSummaries.com

ISBN: 280628788X

Category: Education

Page: 40

View: 1631

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Unlock the more straightforward side of Cousin Bette with this concise and insightful summary and analysis! This engaging summary presents an analysis of Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac, which tells the story of a woman driven by jealousy to try and destroy her cousin’s family by any means possible. Along with her beautiful but malicious friend, Bette schemes to push the Hulot family into infidelity, betrayal and financial ruin. Cousin Bette stands out for its realism, with vivid descriptions of its cast of characters and a perceptive examination of the social changes taking place in 19th-century Paris. The novel is one of the Scenes of Parisian Life in Balzac’s The Human Comedy, a hugely ambitious series of around 90 novels and novellas which aimed to depict the entirety of 19th-century French society. Honoré de Balzac was one of France’s most prolific and influential writers, and his work played a major part in laying the groundwork for the modern realist novel. Find out everything you need to know about Cousin Bette in a fraction of the time! This in-depth and informative reading guide brings you: • A complete plot summary • Character studies • Key themes and symbols • Questions for further reflection Why choose BrightSummaries.com? Available in print and digital format, our publications are designed to accompany you in your reading journey. The clear and concise style makes for easy understanding, providing the perfect opportunity to improve your literary knowledge in no time. See the very best of literature in a whole new light with BrightSummaries.com!

Faust

Parts One and Two ; Cousin Bette ; Honoré de Balzac

Author: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780852291634

Category:

Page: 370

View: 1052

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Poor Relations

Author: Honore De De Balzac

Publisher: Pinnacle Press

ISBN: 9781374998193

Category: History

Page: 736

View: 3014

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. To ensure a quality reading experience, this work has been proofread and republished using a format that seamlessly blends the original graphical elements with text in an easy-to-read typeface. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

Art, Literature and Culture from a Marxist Perspective

Author: Tony McKenna

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137526610

Category: Political Science

Page: 215

View: 2234

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This title offers a Marxist take on a selection of artistic and cultural achievements from the rap music of Tupac Shakur to the painting of Van Gogh, from HBO's Breaking Bad to Balzac's Cousin Bette , from the magical realm of Harry Potter to the apocalyptic landscape of The Walking Dead , from The Hunger Games to Game of Thrones .

The Cosmopolitans

Author: Sarah Schulman

Publisher: The Feminist Press at CUNY

ISBN: 1558619054

Category: Fiction

Page: 296

View: 3680

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A modern retelling of Balzac's classic Cousin Bette by one of America's most prolific and significant writers. Earl, a black, gay actor working in a meatpacking plant, and Bette, a white secretary, have lived next door to each other in the same Greenwich Village apartment building for thirty years. Shamed and disowned by their familied, both found refuge in New York and in their domestic routine. Everything changes when Hortense, a wealthy young actress from Ohio, comes to the city to "make it." Textured with the grit and gloss of midcentury Manhattan, The Cosmopolitans is a lush, inviting read. The truths it frames about the human need for love and recognition remain long after the book is closed.